Countdown to Chakra-time

Less than 24 hours from now, my friend/fellow yoga teacher, Leli Hoch, and I will be just coming to the end of presenting our first joint yoga workshop. I am so looking forward to it! We did our teachers training together at Ananda Sanga in Somerset West but even though we have the same theoretical background, our personal styles are quite different and I think they will complement each other beautifully. We are expecting about 15 people so there will be a wonderful energy. Ooh, I can’t wait!

The theme of the workshop is ‘Balancing your Chakras’ and we have put together a sequence of mini-classes that will talk to each chakra individually, including specifically chosen pranayama and meditation for each one.

We are presenting it at the beautiful Stanford Valley Guest Farm http://www.stanfordvalley.co.za/and I am looking forward to getting out to the Overberg almost as much as I am doing the actual workshop. If I wake up early enough, I will take the coastal route via Clarence Drive, which surely has to be one of the most scenic routes in the world. It is one of the things that makes my heart swell with pride at being South African. The Amalfi Coast in Italy is breathtaking and the Pacific Coast Highway via Big Sur in California is absolutely spectacular, but I still think that this takes the cake. Of course I am biaised! But I am allowed to be. Surely that’s what being patriotic is all about?

The last time Leli and I did something together was when we attended a Southern Africa Yoga Safari retreat with the awesome Cheryl Lancellas in early October. It was at the Blue Butterfly Retreat centre just outside Tulbagh, and a truly memorable experience (more about that in another blog). Our dear friend and fellow teacher, Nicole Shea, also attended with us, before coldheartedly abandoning us to join her husband in Malaysia (we miss you, Nicole). It was not just a wonderfully restorative weekend but also huge fun getting to know each other a bit better, and I really look forward to the next one.

Who knows, maybe if this workshop is a success (as I am fully expecting it to be), Leli and I will be able to roll it out internationally… Malaysia here we come!

 

Leave a Reply

