#SpeakOut this 16 Days of Activism to End Violence against Women

This is a cause that is extremely close to my heart. I am a rape survivor and even though I was one of the lucky ones who had the full support of my family, the opportunity to get counselling if I wanted, excellent medical attention, access to all the necessary information and resources that my heart desired to help me come to terms with what had happened to me – and for years and years genuinely thought that I had got away from the attack with little to no real damage – it’s only now at the age of 40+ that I’m realising how it bruised me to the very core. Body, mind and soul. I was 13 when it happened. And I thought I was so fine that I hardly even knew to make use of all these aforementioned resources to help me get better. So, I feel incredibly passionate about all those women with zero support from their community and family – whose rapists are very often those in their social circles – and who can only dream of getting access to the support that was so readily available to me. I am signed up to get involved with Rape Crisis CT next year and this is just a small way of getting that ball rollling in the meantime. Please show your support of this fantastic cause and the incredible and vital work they do. Read on to find out more…

Rape Crisis Cape Town Blog

Rape is prevalent in the Western Cape and in South Africa but it is also under reported because communities have no faith in a system that lacks the capacity to address their needs and allows rapists to go unpunished.  The resulting culture of impunity drives the number of rape incidents upwards which means that women’s right to live free from violence is compromised.

Rape leads to high levels of psychological trauma and when this goes untreated the social fabric, in other words the bonds between people in a community, which determine how well the community can function, is eroded. The trauma of rape can have physical, psychological and behavioural effects on the rape survivor including injury, pregnancy, HIV or other sexual transmitted infections, shock, depression, nightmares, thoughts of suicide, isolation from other people and feelings of anger, extreme anxiety and shame. Sometimes survivors turn to substance abuse as a way…

View original post 453 more words

2 thoughts on “#SpeakOut this 16 Days of Activism to End Violence against Women

  1. Thank you for spreading awareness Nicci. I’ve also experience humiliation and rape by an ex boyfriend and for a long time I did not see it as a real rape, just because we had some sort of a relationship. I’ve been one of the luckier one’s I guess. I think women that still suffer in silence and that just breaks my heart.

    • Victoria thanks for your comment. A huge part of any healing process is to acknowledge what actually happened and to see how damaging it actually was. It’s hard to get there sometimes when the person that hurt you is someone who you trusted and allowed yourself to be vulnerable with. I’m sorry for your pain and I’m glad for your awareness and openness. Those blurred lines are so confusing for so many women who have these question marks about what actually went on. The more people like us speak out and tell our stories, the more the space is created for other women to do the same. Thanks for reading and commenting. Love Nicci

Leave a Reply

