Who’s On The Mat? Meet Alesha

 

126

Hello, and who are you? 

My name is Alésha Bredell and I’m a 24 year old MA Art philosophy student at Stellenbosch University.

What’s your favourite pose? 

Definitely Goddess pose (utkata kon asana). It makes me recognize and appreciate feminine strength.

Most dreaded pose? 

Side plank (Vasisthasana) – Just no!

Your yoga journey?

I started yoga when I was about 14. I did not enjoy sports much and after being at the Art school the entire afternoon, yoga in the evenings became one of my favourite physical activities. I remember being inspired by some of the older women at the studio I attended, standing on their heads. I still can’t do that today, but I am working my way up, slowly.

What do you love most about your practice? 

Yoga allows me the time to be with myself without over-thinking things too much, as I often do. Seeing that yoga has been part of my life for a few years now, it is always something I return to through many phases of my life where I learn and explore new depths every time.

Anything particular you like about practicing at Yoga With Nicci?

At Nicci’s yoga studio I have found a space where I feel welcome and at ease to ask questions and make mistakes. I have also recently become more confident in my practice and realized that every body is a yoga body.

Tell us something that not many people know about you. 

If I did not study art I would have wanted to become an archaeologist 🙂

Anything else that you’ve found through your practice?

Realizing and exerting physical strength, especially as a woman, is extremely important as such a realization and ability translates into many facets of ones life.

Namaste, Alesha, and thanks for participating! We’re happy you found out studio and hope to see lots more of you moving forward. 

Leave a Reply

